Skip navigation

Daily Archives: November 15th, 2008

When I heard Alice Walker read this letter I was on the verge of tears.

The love and pride with which she is profound.

Here is a little quote:

It is really only to say: Well done. We knew, through all the generations, that you were with us, in us, the best of the spirit of Africa and of the Americas. Knowing this, that you would actually appear, someday, was part of our strength. Seeing you take your rightful place, based solely on your wisdom, stamina and character, is a balm for the weary warriors of hope, previously only sung about.

It makes me sad to know that there is still very real racism today.  I was very privildged to grow up in a very diverse neighborhood.  We were a poor immigrant and Black neighborhood, but I never knew we were poor because we had so much fun together.  Actually I grew up playing basketball at my local recreation center, James Lee.  It was lots of fun and I always felt welcome even though I was not very good at basketball.  I played on a team of all Black players and coaches.  I was the lone Latino, but they welcomed me as if I were no different.  I pray that President Elect Obama may be the continuation of the work started many generations ago by brave and courageous people.