Skip navigation

Daily Archives: November 12th, 2008




Jumble

Originally uploaded by gotplaid?.

”The School of the Americas has trained some of the most brutal assassins, some of the cruelest dictators and some of the worst violators of human rights that the Western Hemisphere has ever seen,” by Representative Joe Moakley, Democrat of Massachusetts.




Fallen Leaves

Originally uploaded by love_child_kyoto.

This past weekend I spend the afternoon raking and bagging leaves. It was a windy night when I went to bed. The next day I woke up and it seemed like I did nothing. The trees were beautiful, but now I got to deal with their leaves. Maybe I will wait until all the trees are bear in our neighborhood.

Here are pictures of stolen cameras. Lisa and I have had bad luck with our digital cameras. We have had two cameras in our life together and one broke 😦
We are camera-less now!
The good thing about the last one is that it was really inexpensive.
I got it when it was being phased out when the new line of cameras were coming into Staples. So I got a sweat deal. There was a nicer one available, but I decided to go with the cheaper one. I am glad I did.
Now, I am thinking that instead of a camera for a gift, I really want Guitar Hero. That is what I asked Lisa for this year. I will not be sad if we decided to get a camera though.




greek alphabet script

Originally uploaded by matari.

Today I am working on my Greek homework and I have been hitting a wall. For some reason I think I know what I am doing and then I get my homework grade back and I am not getting the grade I expected. I better stop procrastinating and get back to it.

Miram Makeba died on Nov. 9. She was know as “Mama Africa.”  It is a sad loss, my thoughts and prayers go out to her family.  She will be sorely missed.

Brandon Marshall denied tribute to Obama’s election.  His planned tribute was reminiscent of Tommie Smith and Juan Carlos symbol at the 1968 Olympics in Mexico.

David Zirn has a good response on Democracy Now.

Here is a little clip:

AMY GOODMAN: Dave Zirin, when I opened Juan’s paper yesterday, the New York Daily News, I was surprised to see a column by you, and the headline was this question: “Did Tiger Woods Pave Barack Obama’s Path? Are You Joking?”

DAVE ZIRIN: “Are you joking?” Let me tell you something. The sports world will always try to break its arm patting itself on its back when it comes to progress and trying to say that it reflects the sports world’s progress on issues. A column was written in the Orlando Sentinel by Mike Bianchi that made a very simple argument. It said that because so many millions of white Americans have been cheering for years for people like Tiger Woods and Michael Jordan, that really paved the way for Obama’s victory. And I thought that was rather ridiculous, and let me say why.

First of all, I mean, whites have been cheering for African American athletic achievement, you know, since the times of slavery. I mean, this was something that happened on plantations, and that didn’t necessarily lead to political progress. Second of all, there’s a big difference between cheering for somebody’s athletic achievement and accepting their political leadership. I mean, it’s night and day, apples and oranges, Sarah Palin and Amy Goodman. These are very different worlds.

And then, lastly, the fact that Michael Jordan, Tiger Woods and Tony Dungy were held up—Tony Dungy, who’s a very successful African American football coach—was very bizarre to me. I mean, first of all, Michael Jordan and Tiger Woods are two of the most aggressively apolitical athletes that have existed on the sports scene in some time. They’re the exemplars of the apolitical athlete. And Tony Dungy, while being a man of great respect who’s held in high regard, is also somebody with close ties to Focus on the Family and the anti-gay marriage movement. So you think about why people waited on line for so many hours to vote for Barack Obama, I think it was to move away from a lot of the politics that people like Woods, Jordan and Dungy actually represent.